top of page

Shanti Lumin Home

History and Description

 

The Shanti Lumin Welcome Home was created in 1993 thanks to Maria Rayappan, originally from Kanji, back from a 20 year stay in England. Touched by poverty and domestic violence, she decides to take in children abandoned by their families and offer them a better future. It is in a branch hut funded by former English colleagues that Shanti Lumin was born outside the village, about 4 km from the Saint Antony school.

 

Today, although spartan but functional, the buildings provide an adequate environment and are installed on a plot of one hectare, which includes a vegetable patch and a large play area.

Shanti Lumin welcomes around fifty girls from 4 to 16 years old. The residents come from surrounding villages whose families cannot provide for their education. These girls have witnessed or suffered trauma related to violence, lack of parents or extreme poverty. It is about providing them with a stable and warm environment and a psychological and material support which will allow them to heal the wounds of their past and prepare them for a better future. This includes quality schooling in a serene environment.

 

Upon arrival, residents attend a Tamil school because their knowledge of English is insufficient. However, specific courses in English are organized to enable them, if they reach a sufficient level, to join the Saint Antony school.

Operation

Video

bottom of page

Historique et Description

 

Le Home d’Accueil Shanti Lumin a vu le jour en 1993 grâce à Maria Rayappan, originaire de Kanji, de retour d’un séjour de 20 années en Angleterre. Touchée par la pauvreté et la violence domestique, elle décide de recueillir des enfants abandonnés par leur famille et de leur offrir un meilleur avenir. C’est dans une hutte en branchage financée par d’anciens collègues anglais que Shanti Lumin voit le jour en dehors du village, à environ 4 km de l’école Saint Antony. 

Aujourd'hui, bien que spartiates mais fonctionnels, les bâtiments procurent un environnement adéquat et sont installés sur un terrain d’un hectare, qui inclut un potager et un grand espace de jeux.

Shanti Lumin accueille une cinquantaine de filles de 4 à 16 ans. Les pensionnaires proviennent de villages environnants dont les familles ne peuvent subvenir à leur éducation.  Ces filles ont été témoins ou ont subi des traumatismes liés à la violence, à l’absence de parents ou à une extrême pauvreté. Il s’agit de leur fournir un environnement stable et chaleureux et un soutien psychologique et matériel qui leur permettra de panser les plaies de leur passé et de les préparer à un avenir meilleur. Cela inclut une scolarité de qualité dans un environnement serein.

Lors de leur arrivée, les résidentes fréquentent une école tamoule car leur connaissance en anglais est insuffisante. Toutefois des cours spécifiques en anglais sont organisés afin de leur permettre, si elles atteignent un niveau suffisant, d’intégrer l'école Saint Antony.

Association Enfants de Kanji

Pierre Danthony

8 rue de Gex

01210 Ferney-Voltaire

France

pierredanthony@hotmail.fr

©2020 by Enfants de Kanji. Proudly created with Wix.com